GEDmatch and GenomeMate Resources

I’ve read that it’s estimated 80% of genealogy is repetition. Repeating the same research someone else has done, repeating our own searches over again, and reviewing the same sources that others have already gone through, for example. I have little doubt this estimate is likely to be quite realistic. I’m certainly guilty of this repetition just as much as anybody. This repetitiveness also exists with genealogy blogs.

I’m certainly not trying to reinvent the wheel with this blog, especially since my blog post output is rather sparse to begin with. My goal with any blog writing I do is to present information that hasn’t been covered before, in order to increase understanding and/or offer tips to help make things easier. Hopefully, I’m walking the road of quality rather than quantity. Therefore, I want to point out a few helpful resources for GEDmatch and GenomeMate for additional information beyond what I cover here in my blog posts:

Genome Mate getting started video and articles

Genome Mate User Group on Facebook

Genome Mate Facebook page

GEDmatch.com User Group on Facebook

GEDmatch wiki (link is on the lefthand side of the home page after you login)

GEDmatch Wiki Screenshot

I had originally planned to write a post covering the steps to download the Family Tree DNA test results for upload to GEDmatch, but I recently learned the steps are well explained in the GEDmatch wiki. Rather than compose a post that adds little to what they’ve already covered, I can instead work on presenting something new. As I come across other information online like this, that is relevant to GEDmatch, Genome Mate and chromosome mapping, I will let you know about it and post a link to it.

If you happen to come across information regarding these topics, that you find to be helpful, or that contradicts what I’ve posted, please let me know by adding a comment or sending me an email. I also welcome you to suggest ideas/subjects for future blog posts in regards to these topics. We will all be the better for the sharing of this information, and hopefully it will help us all to raise our productive genealogy time up from the 20% level.

This article last updated 7 Oct 2014

Leave a Reply

