Pendleton County Stone Family DNA Test Results

The Y-DNA 12 marker test results of the descendant of the Stone family of early Pendleton County, Virginia (now West Virginia), have come back and are now posted on my Stone Y-DNA Test Results page. Even though the Y-DNA 12 marker test is a very basic level of testing, there are enough differences (5 out of 12 markers) that a close connection between my Stone paternal line and the paternal line of the Pendleton County Stone family is very unlikely. While it’s always a bit disappointing not to discover a match, negative results like this are a great help in knowing where to refocus future research for trying to locate the correct ancestral family of my Stone paternal line. These results also let me know that the Rexrode/Rexroad matches I’m seeing in the autosomal DNA matches of my father and myself are very likely related to my Varner ancestors, and not to the Pendleton County Stone family (who also has ties to the Varner family).

The next step is to test a descendant of the Stone family of early Greene County, Pennsylvania, who I also feel is a strong candidate to be the ancestral family of my Stone paternal line. I’ve already received a lead on a potential tester, and am just waiting to hear back from him. Hopefully, this family will be a match, as this is the last of the Stone families I’ve identified in the immediate area surrounding where my earliest Stone ancestors lived in Monongalia County, Virginia (now West Virginia), .

Leave a Reply

