Wright DNA Testing Update

I had hoped to use autosomal DNA to help determine if my Wright line is descended from the Oyster Bay (New York) Wright family or the Flushing (New York) Wright family. Unfortunately, it seems there were many intermarriages of the various New England Wright families, so the autosomal comparisons have not been conducive to drawing any conclusions. Therefore, I’m shifting my focus back to Y-DNA.

After much searching, I have finally located a descendant of Jonathan Wright of Flushing who has a strong paper trail lineage and is agreeable to doing the Y-DNA testing. Test results should be available in March. Documented descendants of Jonathan seem to be in very short supply, so I’m extremely grateful to have located this testing participant.

Documented Oyster Bay Wright family descendants seem to be much more readily available. I currently have several requests for DNA test participation out to the various descendants I have located. Hopefully, I will soon be able to report that one of them has agreed to participate in the testing.

In the meantime, if any documented paternal line direct descendants of either of these family lines happens to come across this posting, and is interested in participating in testing, please get in touch with me.  

Leave a Reply

